EGRG Dissertation Prizes 2020/2021

The Royal Geographical Society with IBG Economic Geography Research Group is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 EGRG PhD Thesis Prize and the 2021 EGRG Undergraduate Dissertation Prize.

EGRG PhD Thesis Prize Winner:
The EGRG Committee would like to congratulate Dr Nora Lanari, who completed her doctorate at Coventry University, for her excellent thesis entitled ‘The influence of global agricultural production networks on water governance’. The EGRG Committee viewed this thesis to be both original and creative. Its contribution to economic geography was identified at two levels; on the place of the environment, broadly speaking, within the global production network (GPN) framework and on the role of water governance, in both its utility in supporting production and projecting a positive corporate image, in GPNs. Dr Lanari is now SNSF Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand.

EGRG Undergraduate Dissertation Prize Winner:
Congratulations to Mr Bing Yang Tan who completed his undergraduate degree at University College London and for the very interesting dissertation entitled ‘Exploring the workers journey for a better ride: A curiosity-led qualitative study on food delivery drivers experiences in Singapore’. We understand he is about to start postgraduate study and wish him all the best.

Again, many congratulations to both Dr Lanari and Mr Tan!

A list of previous dissertation prize winners can be found here: