EGRG Dissertation Prizes

phd_thesisThe EGRG currently offers two annual prizes.

A postgraduate prize is offered each year to the best PhD thesis (£150), and this is kindly sponsored by Sage.  Winners also receive copies of Global Shift.

The EGRG Undergraduate Dissertation Prize is also sponsored by Sage. Winners receive copies of Global Shift, The Sage Handbook of Economic Geography, and a further £150 worth of Sage books.


Previous prize winners are listed below.


PhD Prize: Misbah Khatana (Cambridge University)
‘Navigating gendered space: The social construction of labour markets in Pakistan’


PhD Prize: Victoria Barker (Coventry University, now at Derby University)  On the creative ecosystem: investigating ecosystem approaches through the creative sector’


PhD Prize: Julie Ann Delos Reyes (University of Manchester)
‘Mining Shareholder Value: Financialisation, Extraction and the Geography of Gold Mining’

Runner Up PhD Prize: Liam Keenan (Newcastle University)
‘Financialisation, Brewing and the Changing Role of the Pub in Britain and Germany’

Undergraduate Prize: Simon Hardy (Queen Mary University of London)
‘Race to precarity: an investigation into the risk-lade mobilities performed by Deliveroo’s bicycle couriers’


PhD Prize: Chloe Billing (University of Birmingham)
‘Satellites, Rockets and Services: A Place for Space in Geography?’

Runner Up PhD Prize: Emil Evenhuis (Newcastle University, then to Cambridge University)
‘The Political Economy of Adaptation and Resilience in Old Industrial Regions: A Comparative Study of South Saarland and Teesside’

Undergraduate Prize: Holly Campbell (University College London)
‘Moments of Progress: An exploration of the interaction between female enterprise and patriarchal norms in Selcuk,Turkey’


PhD PrizeErica Pani (Queen Mary, University of London)
‘Emerging Economic Geographies of Higher Education: A Complex Negotiation of Value and Values in the Face of Market Hegemony’

Runner Up PhD PrizeMatthew Alford (University of Manchester)
‘Public governance and multi-scalar tensions in global production networks: crisis in South African fruit’

Undergraduate prizePhoebe Kitchen (Durham University)
‘Civic Crowdfunding: A UK-centric multidimensional analysis’


PhD Prize: Aidan Wong (Queen Mary, University of London, then to National University of Singapore)
‘The Politics of Urban Waste Collection and Recycling Global Production Networks in Singapore and Malaysia’

Undergraduate Prize: Harriet Lawrence (Durham University)
‘Follow the Thing: The Ethical Avocado?’


Undergraduate prize: Yasmin Merican (University of Edinburgh)
‘All food is ethical: exploring the negotiation of everyday ethics and ethical food’


Undergraduate prize: Claude Risner (Queen Mary, University of London)
‘Pyka pyky moet (a hand washes a hand)’


Phd Prize: Sarah M Hall, (University of Liverpool).
‘Exploring and Articulating Ethics in Consumption: A Multi-Method Analysis of the Ethics of Consumption’.


Phd Prize: Laurent Frideres, (University of Cambridge).
“Spatial Industrial Clustering and Competitive Advantage: Comparing Firms Inside and Outside Industry Clusters”.
Masters: Luisa Gagliardi, (London School of Economics).
“On the Engine of Innovation: Labour Mobility and Knowledge Spillovers”.


Phd Prize: David Jordhus-Lier (University of Manchester, then to the Norwegian Institute for Urban and Regional Research).
“The Practice of Neoliberalism: Responses to public sector restructuring across the labour-community divide in Cape Town”.

Masters: Etienne LeBlanc (London School of Economics).
“Can enterprise zones deliver local jobs to local people? The impact of the French Zones Franches Urbaines on local unemployment”.


Phd Prize: Karen Lai (University of Nottingham, then to University of British Columbia).
“Approaches to ‘Markets’: The Development of Shanghai as an International Financial Centre” [View abstract].

Masters: Lucie Edwards (Newcastle University).
“NewcastleGateshead Place Marketing and the Attraction of a Creative Class” [View abstract].

Working Paper Prize: Franz Huber (University of Cambridge).
Social capital of economic clusters: towards a network-based conception of social resources


Phd Prize: Simon Turner (Durham University, then to Department of Public Health & Policy, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine).

“Learning in doing: the social anthropology of innovation in a large UK organisation” [View abstract].

Masters: Sarah Marie Hall (University of Liverpool).
“Developing moral identities: articulating ethics in family consumption” [View abstract].

2008 Prizes sponsored by Wiley-Blackwell


Phd Prize: Andrew Currah (Cambridge University then to Oxford University).
“The Internet gift economy: a study of socio-technological change in the US film industry” [View abstract].

Masters: Pedro Marques (CURDS, Newcastle).
“Regional paths to the knowledge economy: can all regions be knowledge based?” [View abstract].


Phd Prize: James Faulconbridge (University of Loughborough, then to University of Lancaster).
“Local-global geographies of tacit knowledge production in London and New York’s advertising and law professional service firms”

Masters: Will Harvey (Cambridge University).
“Highly-skilled migration: An analysis of immigrant networks in biotechnology”


Phd Prize: Jennifer Johns (University of Manchester).
“Tracing the connections: Manchester’s film and television industry”

Best MA Dissertation: Riccardo Crescenzi, (Università degli Studi Roma Tre, Dipartimento Di Economia).
“Innovation and regional growth in the Enlarged Europe: the role of local innovative capabilities, peripherality and education”.


Phd Prize: Al James (Cambridge University).
“Regional culture, corporate strategy, and high tech innovation: Salt Lake City” [View abstract]

MA Prize: Marion Traub-Werner,
“Free trade and the performance of neo-liberalism”.


Travel award: Jane Holgate, (QMW).


Travel award: Martin Bickl, (University of Durham).


Best conference paper in economic geography: Anthony Vigor, (University of Manchester).

Best published paper in economic geography: Danny MacKinnon, (University of Aberdeen).


Travel award: Steve Wood, (University of Southampton) to travel to AAG in Pittsburgh.


Best conference paper in economic geography: Paul Bennett, (Oxford University).

Best published paper in economic geography: Martin Jones, (University of Aberystwyth).


Best conference paper in economic geography: Karen Bakker, (Oxford University).

Best published paper in economic geography: Henry Yeung, (N U Singapore).

Travel awards: Andrew Lincoln (University of Southampton), Adam Holden (University of Manchester) and Anna Davies (University of Manchester) All to attend the AAG in Boston.


Best conference paper in economic geography: Christian Berndt (Cambridge University) and Shaun French, (University of Bristol).

Best published paper in economic geography: Neil Coe, (University of Durham).

Travel awards: Mike Raco, Royal Holloway (to visit the USA), Kevin Ward, (University of Manchester) to visit Ireland.