PhD Dissertation Prize

The EGRG awards a prize each year for the best PhD Dissertation in the broad field of Economic Geography.  Winners receive £150.

An annual call for nominations is made in December each year and this is distributed widely via email – including the EGRG listserv – with a usual deadline in January.  The prize winner is then announced In April-May.

In order to be considered for the award, an electronic copy of the thesis should be forwarded to the EGRG PhD Prize Officer. This must be an absolutely final version of a PhD thesis that has passed the degree for which it has been submitted at a UK institution.  The theses will be reviewed by the EGRG committee.

The EGRG is grateful to Sage publishers who kindly sponsor the PhD prize, providing £150 in vouchers for Sage books, and a copy of the latest edition of Global Shift, for the winning thesis.