Category: Uncategorized

Minutes of AGM 2022

Minutes of the EGRG Annual General Meeting held on 7th September 2021 (online) are now available for viewing here. You can also find minutes of past AGMs on that same page.

AGM Minutes 2021

Minutes of the EGRG Annual General Meeting held on 8th September 2021 (online) are now available for viewing here. You can also find minutes of past AGMs on that same page.

Call-out to early career researchers

We are conscious that Early Career Researchers face particularly anxious times at the moment. The impact of the Coronavirus and subsequent lockdown have made the existing issues ECRs already face (job isolation, job insecurity and competition, and balancing care responsibilities with anxieties around being ‘productive’ ) even more acute. 

We want to reach out to fellow ECRs to understand and collate your experiences about how the crisis is impacting people differently. This would help us understand what the EGRG might do to help, and we’d also like to help connect ECRs with others who might be experiencing similar issues. 

Please get in touch with the Early Career Researcher (ECR) Representatives of the EGRG, Harry Pettit ( and Alexandra Dales (, to tell us about the challenges you are facing as an ECR at the moment. Please also let us know if you’d be interested in a virtual webinar for ECRs to get together and share experiences. More to come, watch this space!

Submissions open for EGRG PhD Prize 2020

The EGRG committee is pleased to request submissions to the annual EGRG PhD prize. The EGRG awards a £150 prize, sponsored by Sage, for the best PhD thesis in the field of economic geography (broadly defined) as judged by the committee. 

Previous winners are here:

In order to be considered for the award, please email an electronic version of the thesis to Steve Wood ( by 1st March 2020.  This must be an absolutely final version of a thesis that has passed the PhD degree at a UK institution during 2019. If you have any doubts about eligibility, please email Steve Wood. 

New EGRG officers 2019

The EGRG Annual General Meeting was held during the RGS-IBG Conference on 29 August 2019. Many thanks to all our outgoing committee members (Sarah Marie Hall, Al James, Nora Laneri, Emil Evenhuis, Karen Lai) for all their hard work. During the AGM, a number of new and previous committee members were elected into new/expanded roles.

EGRG committee (as of September 2019)

Chair: Jennifer Johns
Secretary: Chris Mullerleile
Treasurer: Julie MacLeavy
Prizes Officer: Steve Wood
Postgrad Reps: Dominic Obeng; Zara Babakordi
ECR Rep: Alexandra Dales; Harry Pettit
Events Officer: Jon Swords
Social Media and Web Officer: Karen Lai
International Officers: Lotte Thomsen (Copenhagen Business School); Heidi Østbø Haugen (Oslo)
Education Officer (HE): Andrew Greenhalgh-Cook
Education Officer (Schools and FE): Jennifer Ferreira
Ordinary member: Sarah Hall
Ordinary member:  Rhiannon Pugh (Diversity and Equality role)
Ordinary member:  Sarah Marie Hall (Diversity and Equality role)

More information on the EGRG committee members is available here.  Minutes of the 2019 AGM (and of past meetings) can also be found here. If you would like to get involved or have suggestions regarding events or initiatives, please do email us – we always welcome new help or ideas.

Victoria Barker (Coventry) wins 2019 PhD prize

This year received another bumper crop of entries to the competition, and this is a continuing sign of vitality in Economic Geography in the UK. All entries were of a very high standard and the EGRG committee is pleased to announce that the winner of the 2019 Thesis Prize is:

Victoria Barker Coventry University (now at Derby University): On the creative ecosystem: investigating ecosystem approaches through the creative sector (supervised by Professor Nick Henry and Dr David Jarvis). Many congratulations!

Simon Hardy (QMUL) wins UG dissertation prize 2018

The EGRG Committee is delighted to announce that the winner of the best undergraduate dissertation for 2018.

We had 12 fantastic submissions, but the award goes to Simon Hardy of Queen Mary University of London for his dissertation entitled “Race to precarity: An investigation into the risk-laden mobilities performed by Deliveroo’s bicycle couriers”.

Congratulations to Simon for his excellent, timely, and engaging work!

We want to thank Sage Publishing for sponsoring this award and providing Simon with a copy of Global Shift, as well as a voucher for £150 in books.


The EGRG committee is pleased to announce our next meeting:

‘Economic Geography Futures’

Wednesday 21st November 2018, 10am – 5pm, University of Manchester (Sackville Building)

Aim: To enhance our current understanding of the state of UK economic geography, and to develop effective strategies and practical actions in response.

The day will focus on three areas of discussion: 1. The challenges and opportunities of practicing as an economic geographer and how we can reinvigorate and enhance UK economic geography; 2. Supporting postgraduate and early career economic geographers and 3. Research funding including the UK Research and Innovation’s Strength in Places fund.

We will be joined by Rachel Tyrrell from Research England (lead for the Strength in Places fund).  To be followed by social drinks and informal dinner in a nearby location.

To book your place please register via Eventbrite HERE

Places are capped so please register even if are eligible for a free ticket.  Any questions? Contact EGRG Chair Jennifer Johns at EGRG Events Officer Emil Evenhuis at


10.00: Welcome by Jennifer Johns (EGRG Chair)
10.00 – 10.45: Consolidation of ‘where we are’ and identification of priority areas.
10.45 – 11.15: Reputation and image of Economic Geography
Coffee break
11.45 – 12.30: Support for Postgraduates and Early Career Researchers in Economic Geography
13.45 – 15.30: Discussion of funding opportunities, in particular the Strength in Places Fund (
Coffee break
16.00 – 17.00: Discussion and summary
After 17.00 you can join us for some drinks at The Refuge (in Manchester city centre).


At the EGRG AGM in July 2018 we welcomed several new committee members, and said goodbye to a number of colleagues who had come to the end of their 3 year terms.

Jennifer Johns (Bristol) takes over as Chair, replacing James Faulconbridge (Lancaster) – many thanks for his work over the last 3 years and good luck to Jenny!

Steve Wood (Surrey) takes over as EGRG prizes Officer; Sarah Hall (Nottingham) returned as an Ordinary Member; and Al James (Newcastle) agreed to do a third stint as Web Officer.

Many thanks to all our outgoing committee members for all their hard work, and a warm welcome to their successors.

More info on the EGRG committee is available here.  And if you would like to get involved then please just email us – we always welcome new help.

EGRG at RGS-IBG Midterm Conference 2018

RGS mid-term conference, 18-20 April 2018, Royal Holloway, University of London

The EGRG was strongly present at the conference with presentations focussing on the UK and beyond. Economic Geography presentations based on research in the UK investigated the nation’s current economic climate from different angles by researching job polarisation, austerity, the gig-economy, and the digital. Presentations that presented research from more global perspectives included explorations of the Green Economy and Global Production Networks.

EGRG PGR Reps Nora Lanari and Dominic Obeng organised the EGRG sponsored reception, and report on its success in this full blog post here